On talking that call

“We used to have a fight about how much the internet would grieve if he died. I was right, but the last word you get in as the still living is a hollow thing, trailing off, as it does, into oblivion.”

– Quinn Norton, My Aaron Swartz, whom I loved, Quinn Says, 12th January 2013.

Read Cory Doctorow and Lawrence Lessig on the suicide of Aaron Swatrz. This bit from Doctorow’s obituary will be my reflection for today:

I don’t know for sure whether Aaron understood that any of us, any of his friends, would have taken a call from him at any hour of the day or night. I don’t know if he understood that wherever he was, there were people who cared about him, who admired him, who would get on a plane or a bus or on a video-call and talk to him.

– Cory Doctorow, RIP Aaron Swartz, Boing Boing, 12th January 2013.

I’d take that call from anyone who needed me the first time, and the second. And the third. To keep taking that call, understanding how that might affect me and put pressure on others around me, well that becomes a question of compassion. My thoughts are with everyone who has taken, made or missed that call.

One thought on “On talking that call

  1. Pingback: Radical Genorosity | Year of Compassion

Leave a Reply

